Skip to main content.

Past and Present Panofsky Fellows: A History Of Excellence in Research

Since the creation of the Panofsky Fellowship award in 1989, there have been eleven Fellows performing research at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory in the fields of experimental and theoretical particle physics, astrophysics, and accelerator physics.

The research program at SLAC has broadened significantly in the intervening years. In addition to the traditional disciplines centered around SLAC’s accelerator complex, Fellows may also conduct their research offsite, at the LHC or at non-accelerator facilities, exploring physics beyond the Standard Model, from the lowest to the highest energies, in the areas of high energy physics, neutrino physics, particle astrophysics and cosmology. SLAC and Stanford University now jointly host the Kavli Institute of Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology (KIPAC). This collaborative venture has dramatically expanded SLAC’s experimental particle-astrophysics program (e.g. Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope), adding new projects (e.g. LSST, DES) as well as strong theoretical and computational research. Accelerator science covers the full range from the exploration of new concept of particle acceleration to the design and engineering of novel components - and - to the development of complete accelerator complexes, with novel instrumentation and controls and advanced simulations.


Previous Fellows

Name Date of Activity Description of Research Present Position
Lance Dixon 1989-1992 Elementary Particle Theory Professor
Stanford University/SLAC
Emlyn Hughes 1992-1996 Experimental Particle Physics Professor
Columbia University
Tor Raubenheimer 1994-1997 Accelerator Physics Professor
Stanford University/SLAC
Frank Zimmermann 1997-1999 Accelerator Physics Staff
Center for European Nuclear Research (CERN)
Colin Jessop 1998-2003 Experimental Particle Physics Professor
University of Notre Dame
Eric Colby 2000-2005 Accelerator Physics Staff Physicist
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Ariel Schwartzman 2006-2008 Experimental Particle Physics Asst. Professor
Stanford University / SLAC
Andy Haas 2008  2011 Experimental Particle Physics Asst. Professor
New York University
Saurabh Jha 2006 - 2007 Cosmology Asst. Professor
Rutgers University
Yasunobu Uchiyama 2008 - 2013 Astroparticle Physics Assoc. Professor
Rikkyo University

Current Fellows

Name Description of Research         Year of Award
Joel England Accelerator Physics 2010
Giacinto Piacquadio Experimental Particle Physics 2012
Eduardo Rozo Astroparticle Physics 2012
Privacy Statement -