December 12, 2003  


APS Fellows New Members

The American Physical Society (APS) has issued its list of the newest members to be elected to Fellowship. Each new fellow is elected after careful and competitive review and recommendation by a fellowship committee on the unit level, additional review by the APS Fellowship Committee and final approval by the full APS Council. Only half of one percent the total APS membership is selected for Fellowship in the Society each year. This year among the list of 215 new fellows are two outstanding SLAC employees.

(Photo by Nicolle Rager)

On left, Chris Adolphsen (NLC), for original contributions to the beam physics and microwave properties of high frequency high-gradient linear accelerators.

On right, Paul Emma (ARDA), for his contributions to the physics of high brightness beams in linac and compression systems, and his critical impact on the development of linear colliders and x-ray free electron lasers.

Please join us in congratulating these newly elected fellows of the American Physical Society.


The Stanford Linear Accelerator Center is managed by Stanford University for the US Department of Energy

Last update Thursday December 11, 2003 by Emily Ball