December 10, 2004  


33rd Annual SLAC Run & Walk Has Over 120 Participants

By Ruth McDunn

Runners make their way along the linac. (Photo by Jim Stanfield)

SLAC Run 2004 Winners (shown left to right): Corrine Purcell (HR), Thosyuki Okugi (ILC), Larus Thorlacius, Michael Toney (ESRD), Ashley Deacon (SG), Osten Colbert, Elsa Nimmo (RP), Rita Comes, Bobby McKee (ILC), Juna Kurihara (COM), Jym Clendenin (AD), Karen ‘Dayle’ Kotturi (LCLS), Ole Agese. Not pictured: Valentina Santoro (BABAR) and Catherine Carr (MD). (Photo by Jim Stanfield)

The 33rd annual SLAC Race was held on November 18, with 88 runners and over 45 walkers participating in the event.

The overall winner was Ashley Deacon (SG) with a time of 20:58.47. Deacon has placed first in the SLAC race since 2000 (when his time was 22:06.3), and has consistently beaten his own record in the subsequent years. Ole Agesen (21:00.4) and Larus Thorlacius (21:24.99) came in 2nd and 3rd place overall. The top three women were Rita Comes (27:21.42), Juna Kurihara (COM) with a time of 27:28.27 and Karen Kotturi (LCLS) at 29:17.30. Thanks to Runner’s High (Menlo Park), Eric’s Gourmet (Sharon Heights), Safeway (Sharon Heights) and the Friends of the Accelerator for prize donations.

Commemorative event t-shirts are still available for $8 in sizes L, XL, and XXL. Contact Ruth McDunn if you are interested in purchasing a shirt. Great holiday presents!

For complete details on the race results and more photos of the event, see




The Stanford Linear Accelerator Center is managed by Stanford University for the US Department of Energy

Last update Thursday December 09, 2004 by Emily Ball