October 21, 2005  


Panofsky Prize Awarded to Jaros

John Jaros (THP), Panofsky Prize winner.
(Photo courtesy of SciArts)

John Jaros (THP) was awarded the 2006 APS W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics along with Bill Ford (U. Colorado), and Nigel Lockyer (U. Pennsylvania).

The award was given for their pioneering work at the MAC and MARK II experiments at SLAC that led to the measurement of the unexpectedly long lifetime of B mesons in 1983.

The award of the Panofsky prize has been twenty years in coming and is a greatly appreciated recognition of this seminal work.

For complete details, see: http://www2.slac.stanford.edu/tip/special/panofsky_prize.htm











The Stanford Linear Accelerator Center is managed by Stanford University for the US Department of Energy

Last update Friday October 21, 2005 by Chip Dalby